The Larry Brown Short Story Award

We’re pleased to announce the fourth annual Larry Brown Short Story Award. The winners will receive the following prizes: 1st prize $400 USD; 2nd prize $50 USD; and 3rd prize $50 USD. Each prize winner will be published in the January 2020 issue of Pithead Chapel.

2019 Guest Judge: Leesa Cross-Smith

Contest Guidelines

Please read the guidelines carefully before submitting

  • The contest is open from August 1st to October 31st of each year
  • The submitted story must be less than 4,000 words
  • No previously published work will be considered
  • The writer’s name and contact information should only appear within the cover letter box in Submittable; submissions will be judged blindly by our guest judge
  • Again, no identifying information should appear on the submitted manuscript pages
  • There’s a $10 entry fee for each story submission
  • Writers can submit multiple entries; however, each entry must be submitted separately and each entry requires an entry fee and cover letter with an address and phone number
  • Simultaneous submissions are fine; however, please withdraw the story immediately if it’s accepted elsewhere.
  • The winners and honorable mentions will be notified by December 15th, 2019, and the prize money will be awarded the day after publication on January 2nd, 2020
  • Those selected as honorable mentions will have the chance to be published alongside the winning selections in the January 2020 issue of Pithead Chapel

2019 Guest Judge: Leesa Cross-Smith

Leesa Cross-Smith is a homemaker and the author of Every Kiss A War and Whiskey & Ribbons, and the forthcoming So We Can Glow and This Close To OkayWhiskey & Ribbons was longlisted for the 2018 Center for Fiction First Novel Prize. Find more @

Previous Awards

2018 Award Winner: Robert Maynor

2017 Award Winner: R.S. Wynn

2016 Award Winner: Lucas Flatt

Previous Guest Judges

2018 Guest Judge: Silas House

2017 Guest Judge: Anne Valente

2016 Guest Judge: Kyle Minor